Here’s to the New Year

Let us all raise our glasses (of sparkling apple cider ;)) to the new year.

great_gatsby

(Who wouldn’t want to raise a glass with Leonardo Di’ Caprio?)

Today is a brand new beginning. It is the start to another 365 day cycle. A day where resolutions will be made and motivation will strike. A day where a whole new set of adventures begin and new lessons to be learned.

We all know the infamous line of “New year, new me” that a bunch of people tend to say today. Some of us may be annoyed with hearing this every year, but someone of us are determined to better themselves and change how they are with the start of the new year. I can see that January 1st is seen as a new start for a lot of people. It’s a brand new month to a brand new year. That is what some people are comfortable with.

Personally, I do see it as a new start, BUT I am not making an resolutions. What? No resolutions?! No. I am making a collection of goals. A collection of monthly, weekly, and daily goals. Most people give up when it comes to being set on big term goals. They tend to not treasure all of the steps taken up to that goal, and if not achieved, they feel as if they had failed OR simply give up during the process. Trust me, I’ve had my fair share of those experiences.

During 2013, I started my fitness journey. I have been through trial and error. Before hand, I suffered from a depression and eating and body image disorder (which I will go into depth in another post). I knew it was time for me to love myself and take care of my body. I have gone on all sorts of diets and different exercise routines. I have found things I loved and things I hated. I learned what I liked and what I couldn’t stand any further. I learned from mistakes. This year, I am starting off with a new plan fit for me. I want to focus on improving my strength, my relationship with food, my relationship with others, and loving myself.

This year is going to be my year. This year I am going to improve my strength. This year I am going to improve my relationship with food. This year I am going to improve relationships with my family and friends. I am going to do what makes me happy and what I love.

Here’s to the new year. Let’s make it one to never forget. Make it count.

~What are your goals for the new year?

~Do you make new years resolutions? If so, what are they?

Leave a Reply

