I am BLESSED to be ALIVE.

Hey there. I’ve been away from the blog world for a few days due to being in a pretty serious accident.

On Thursday, January 23, 2014, I was hit by a car. I was riding my bike to the gym. I was about 10 minutes into my bike ride when I came to a stop light. The sign on the crosswalk was go, so I just kept riding. I didn’t think any cars were coming until this car came speeding around the corner. In about a fraction of a second, she ran right into me. The impact flew me from my bike, to the top of her hood, and onto the street. When they say you see your life flashes right before your eyes when experiencing a traumatic experience, they are completely right.  As I hit the car, I saw a bright light and all of these memories flashed before me.

I was dazed and confused crying on the ground in agonizing pain. A cop was on scene and saw the entire thing. What I do remember, is the lady came running from the car yelling for her daughter to call an ambulance. Somehow I ended up on the sidewalk. I couldn’t move my arms or legs. I was told I gave the cop my information, but all I remember is seeing blood on the ground and hearing sirens. The people from the ambulance strapped me onto the board and put a brace around my neck. All I could do was cry. My vision was blurry and I couldn’t move. I couldn’t even muster out a groan when going over the bumps. In my mind, all I did was pray to God that I was going to be okay.

photo (14)

My vision was blurry but I could hear everything going on around me. I heard the questions being asked, the beats from the monitor, and just so much commotion. They clipped off my clothes for x rays. I had full body x rays done and I had to get stitches on the major cuts on my face, arms, and legs. I couldn’t move at all due to the pain in my neck, back, head, and ankle. There was swelling in my legs and ankle. I was put on another brace for my neck and back. I was then taken to another room to get x rays on my neck done. SO. MUCH. PAIN. Before going in, all I did was cry. Cry because I wanted my parents. Cry from all of the pain. Cry from not knowing how things were going to turn out. Cry because I was praying to God. This lady saw me and comforted me. She didn’t even know me, but she stood there by me comforting me. It helped a lot. After the x-rays, I got a CAT-SCAN done.

After those x-rays, I got to see my parents. I just broke down there to see the looks on their faces. Being in their presence was all I wanted. We couldn’t get ahold of my sister at the time, but eventually we were able too. I wouldn’t let go of my mother’s hand. It was all I wanted. I had some more tests done and was eventually taken up to a room 3 hours later. It was a nice room with a tv, internet, a bathroom, and a space where my mom could sleep next to me. I wasn’t allowed to have anything to eat or drink for 24 hours due to the neck brace. All I could do was stay hydrated from the fluids from an IV and swab my mouth with water. I had a lot of pain medication. I was scheduled for an MRI at 12 that night, but that changed until 7 yesterday morning, but I got it done at about 4:30 pm. I got no sleep that night. I watched Despicable Me and Brave that night with my mom. The nurses came in frequently to give me medication through my IV.

photo (15)

The next day, I was able to see my sister and dad. I couldn’t help but cry. I cried when they came in, but they were so supportive. I was told I had to get the MRI and I had the option to either wait to eat until it was over so I could be sedated or I could eat and drink without being sedated. I chose to eat and drink, because I thought I could handle being in the machine for a while. I was given ice cream, a turkey sandwich on whole wheat with lettuce and tomato, potato soup with crackers, peaches, a chocolate chip cookie, and water. It felt so good to have some food in my stomach. I left to get more x-rays done for my back. It was my first time walking, and was it painful.. My legs are all cut up and bruised. It was so painful to stand their for the x-rays, but the nurses were so sweet so that helped a bit.

I came back and then was given more pain medication and a muscle relaxer before I went for the MRI. I said bye to everyone and went on my way. I had to wait about half an hour before going in and I was praying to God for positive results. I was in the MRI machine for an hour and 20 minutes. I was scared, but I stayed strong. It was loud, but all I could do was think positively. I had to wait another 40 minutes before I could go upstairs. When I got to my room, my dad and sister were gone, but my aunt came. She brought me flowers and a balloon. It was the sweetest surprise. My dinner came up and I had to eat in my brace still. It was really uncomfortable, but it needed to be done. I got a salad with cherry tomatoes, enchiladas, fiesta rice, and steamed asparagus. My mom helped me drink my water and my aunt cut up the food for me. It was so nice to just be able to somewhat relax, eat, and be in the presence of the women I love. 

My aunt had to leave as soon as my mom came back from the cafeteria, and about 30 minutes later, I found out everything that was wrong and that I was able to go home! 😀 I did have to get stitches, road burn, a lot of bruises and cuts, and I do have a fractured spine and neck. I am in a brace, but I am so happy to be home. I left the hospital around 9 pm. I got home and went right to sleep.

I am blessed that I am alive. I am beyond grateful for all of the support and prayers I received. I never thought this would happen, but it did. PLEASE be aware when driving. PLEASE be aware when being a pedestrian. PLEASE do what you love and live your life the best you can. Life is unexpected. I never thought this would happen to me, but it did. I am stay positive because I am alive. I had a guardian angel over me. I am blessed.

-Have you ever faced a traumatic experience happen to you?

-What are you grateful for?

-What are you blessed to have?

32 thoughts on “I am BLESSED to be ALIVE.

  1. Oh my god, I’m SO Glad you’re okay. That sounds completely horrible and I’m so sorry that happened to you. It’s especially scary for me because I ride my bike every single day to my classes and it could have so easily been me.

    So so so glad you’re okay! Please keep updates coming and try to relax and heal up <3.

  2. Oh HONEY!!! When I saw your comment on my blog just now about wearing a neck brace, I was like, “what thaa?” I am SO glad to hear you’re okay! Oh my gosh, it could have been so much worse! As you know, I work in an imaging department so I’ve seen a few pedestrian vs car accidents and they have never been pretty. You most definitely have a strong guardian angel watching over you, love! *hugs*

    • It was a really traumatic experience. I can’t deny that.
      Thank you though. I am staying positive, because it truly is a blessing I am alive. I thank god and my guardian angel for saving me. I am forever grateful for that. 🙂

  3. Oh goodness. I read this on my phone last night but didn’t want to risk an autocorrected comment.

    I don’t know really what to say, so I’ll just answer your questions in some sort or another.

    I’ve been to the emergency room quite a few times and had to have surgery just twice I think. You are so brave for riding in that ambulance. I had the choice when I was taken to the hospital, and the thought just freaked me out so I said no. I know that you didn’t have a choice, but still, just from relaying your thoughts you were so strong throughout this all.

    Reading about your family being there for you reminds me of my times in the hospital too and I think family is what I’m most grateful for as well. On one of my visits I wasn’t able to see because I had a bandage wrapped around my head, but just hearing the voices of my parents, and then my aunt when she came to see me… it was so grounding. It brought me back to reality and reminded me that no matter what happened, everything was going to be alright because I had them to walk through it with me together. And in the same vein, although I may not always deserve the great family that I have, I know that I am truly blessed by them being in my life.

    Rest up and be well Natalie. I hope to hear some positive progress reports from you soon!

    • Being in the hospital is a scary experience. I am petrified of them. I always get anxiety from all of the machines, needles, questions.
      I was so thankful to have my family there. I was literally crying out for them until I got to see them. I am grateful that everything turned out to be alright and that I am alive. I am so happy to hear that you are doing well and stayed strong throughout your experience! Family will always be a blessing.

      Thank you. ❤

  4. Oh my gosh! That must have been an aweful experience! I hope you’ll be better soon! I’ve been through some traumatic (hospital involved) issues either and I can understand how frightening this is. I am so glad for you that you could go home. After something like this being forced to stay is like being hit once again! Luckily your family was there for support! Keep your positive attitude and get well really soon!!!

  5. Pingback: MIMM – I’m Glad To Be Home | lovenataliemarie

  6. Pingback: Healthy Broccoli Chicken Alfredo | lovenataliemarie

  7. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #4 – What A Week | lovenataliemarie

  8. Oh my goodness, Natalie. I am so grateful to hear that you are okay! ♥ That sounds like an absolutely terrifying experience, and I’m sorry that you had to go through all of that. About a month ago, my family was involved in a pretty scary car accident, but I can only imagine how traumatizing it was to be hit while on a bike!
    Count on my prayers, girl. Wishing you all the best! xoxo

    • It was a terrifying experience. I am so grateful to be alive. I remember reading your post about the accident, and I never knew how truly scary it must have been for you, but now I know. I’m happy we’re both alive and doing well!
      Thank you so much! That means so much to me. You’re so sweet. 🙂 ❤

  9. Pingback: Food for the… #4 | Eating 4 Balance

  10. Pingback: Thank You (Personal Post) | lovenataliemarie

  11. Pingback: Spill It Sunday – My Top 5s | lovenataliemarie

  12. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud #6 – I’m Kinda Obsessed | lovenataliemarie

  13. Pingback: What I Learned From Recovery and Intuitive Eating | lovenataliemarie

  14. Pingback: Enjoy Now | lovenataliemarie

  15. Pingback: Thinking Out Loud ; Surprise Trip?! | lovenataliemarie

Leave a Reply

