Spill It Sundays – My Most Important Possessions

Hey there and happy Sunday! Ahh Sunday.. the day full of relaxation and a wonderful day to end the week. It seems as if we are taking a more deeper spin on spilling it this Sunday! It’s the perfect chance to get to know a little more about people and what they hold dear to their lives. I love learning about people, because all different personalities fascinate me. Let’s get on to 5 things that I hold true and dear to myself. πŸ™‚

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1

Thank you, Arman for hosting this lovey edition for Sunday!

photo (33)

Selfie! (This is not recent..)

TOPIC: List your 5 most important possessions/items and the reasoning behind each one. To simplify things, humans and pets are not included! Interpret this any way you wish and can’t wait to see what you guys treasure most!

1. The first possession I hold true and dear to my heart is the stuffed animal I received when I was born. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve called her Puppy. I kid you not, I would go everywhere with her.. to school, to the park, to the grocery store. She wouldn’t leave my side. I slept with her every night. Why I hold her so true and dear? My grandmother that has passes away, God bless her soul, received it when she was a little girl. When she had my mom, she passed it on to my mom. When I was born, my mom passed her onto me. No matter where I move to, she comes along. I plan on passing her down onto my own daughter (if I have one) and hopefully the tradition will extend on. She has been through quite a beating with all of the playing, but my mom has always stitched her back up. I was literally devastated and couldn’t sleep without her as a child.

photo (31)

2. The second possession would have to be my Nintendo 64. Oh does this ancient piece of technology hold onto so many memories. I was literally a game fanatic as a child. I had to have all of the games. I spent my afternoons playing it nonstop until it was time for dinner. I had everything from Pokemon, to racing, to Mario, to virtual games. The possibilities were endless! I received it for Christmas at a semi-young age. I didn’t ask for it that year, but my parents saved up quite a bit just so they could buy it for me. It was a staple at our family game nights. It brought us all together for a friendly competition. I spent some great quality time with my sister with it. Formed some past relationships. Even today, when people come into my room they always wanna play. It’s a classic I can’t seem to let go.

photo (28)

3. The third possession is my old soccer trophy. I got it around the time I was about 5 years old. Soccer was passion. I lived and breathed for soccer. I played on a club team (I even held on the shirt for quite some time.) and we were the jaguars. I grew so close to the girls that were on the team with me. I remember how no matter what, my mom was always there with snacks to cheer me on. She knew how happy it made me. I remember the game where we received the trophies afterwards. I was running with the ball when SLIP! I skidded across the wet, dewy grass, fell back, and my shoe sky rocketed up in the air! Was my face red! It was the game where I transitioned from goalie to mid fielder. It was a pretty big deal. I had to sit out due to a sore ankle. Afterwards, we went out to get some pizza as a team to celebrate. So typical. We each received a trophy. Even though it is for participation, I see it as a token of what I love.

photo (30)

4. My fourth possession is the Bible my grandmother gave me before she passed away. I went to visit her and my grandpa, with my family, about 10 years ago. It was the first time I had been to England that I could remember. The time zones were all mixed up for me, so I always woke up before the sun was up. It was so hard to go to sleep, because it would still be light out at 9 pm! My grandma was an earlier riser, so it was usually just us two. I truly treasure those moments. She read the Bible as she sipped her tea. She’d read passages out loud to me as I sat by the fire. It may seem bad, but it would help me doze off a bit more before everyone else woke up. I still remembered everything she read about. I remember the joy in her voice and the smile on her face. Pure and utter bliss.

photo (29)

5. The fifth and final possession has to be the paintings and drawings that were made by my dad’s friends grandchildren. I have always enjoyed being around these kids, because even all of the medical troubles they face (disjointed, feeding tubes, and other various sicknesses) they never fail to have a smile on their face. They came over for a big ol’ summer BBQ and I was in charge of watching them. The adults did their thaaaang, while I was on kid duty. They came in my room, jumped on the bed, listened too music, and played with my exercise ball. They were all so happy. They played until dinner was all grilled up, we ate, and then I sat down the kids to draw and paint to relax. The youngest boy stuck to my side like glue! We would always want hugs from me, give me little kisses, and tell me he likes me. It was adorable. He drew this picture of us saying “I love you” to each other, and it couldn’t help but make my heart melt. His sister wanted to paint. She made a picture with all of our names with the title “FRIENDS” and a little pattern. I must say they had some pretty fantastic art skills! The boy is said to not be able to live past 10 and the girl suffers pain frequently. They are in the hospital often. They mean so much to me and I will forever treasure these drawings.

photo (32)

The post was a really sentimental and personal post to me. It was hard to narrow it down to five, but these are what I hold so true and dear to my heart. I hope everyone is having an amazing day. ❀

-What objects/possessions do you hold true and dear to your heart?

-Have you played the Nintendo 64? What was your favorite game?

-Did you ever get a stuffed animal when you were born?

6 thoughts on “Spill It Sundays – My Most Important Possessions

  1. I love that you still have your N64 — I have mine set up as well, and I’d have to say that my favourite game for it is Ocarina of Time. Heck, that may just be one of my favourite games of ALL time. But then again, I love the Zelda series and will gladly buy systems for a single game. And one of my most prized possessions is a floppy dog teddy as well. I got mine in NYC when I was 3 years old, and I still sleep with him to this day πŸ™‚

    • I loved that game! I could play it for hours! Unfortunately, I lost some games throughout the years with moving. Maybe I can score a jackpot on eBay or Amazon. πŸ˜‰ Don’t even get me started on Zelda or sonic! There were so many good games! So many precious memories. πŸ™‚
      Aww! I sleep with a teddy bear as well. Inner child comes out. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

